Secondary menu

IChTJ and NCBJ PhD school: agreement signed

Professors Krzysztof ~Kurek and Andrzej Chmielewski (foto: Marek Pawłowski / NCBJ)
Today, Directors of both Institutes, Professor Andrzej Chmielewski and Professor Krzysztof Kurek, have signed an agreement on coordination of PhD school. The agreement’s validity is for an indefinite period. The student will be able to obtain a PhD title in physics or chemistry. The courses will begin in October. ----

Centenary medals for Professor Strupczewski and Professor Wrochna

Independence Centenary Medal  (foto: Ministry of Energy)
Today, Minister Krzysztof Tchórzewski has awarded NCBJ Professor Andrzej Strupczewski and Professor Grzegorz Wrochna with Independence Centenary Medals. They were given to the honoured researchers by the Prime Minister Mateusz Morawiecki. ----

NOMATEN Excellence Centre an important element of European Research Area

NOMATEN Centre of Excellence, created in Świerk in NCBJ, will receive 15 million euro of assistance from European Union. The project was prepared in NCBJ with the contribution from the French CEA and Finnish VTT company. The scientists from the Centre will research materials intended for use in extreme conditions. ----

Professor Krzysztof Kurek

Prof.dr hab.inż. Krzysztof Kurek, NCBJ Director General (foto: NCBJ)
With great satisfaction we would like to inform, that on the 2nd April 2019 in Presidential Palace there was a ceremony of presenting professor nominations. The title of professor of physical sciences was awarded to NCBJ Director General, Associate Professor Eng. Krzysztof Kurek, now Professor Eng. Krzysztof Kurek. Sincere congratulations! ----

Accelerator for intraoperative therapy will be installed in Poznań

Intraoperative accelerator IntraLine IOERT (foto: Grzegorz Krzyżewski /NCBJ)
An intraoperative accelerator produced in Świerk will be installed in Greater Poland Cancer Center until the end of 2020. Accelerator will be installed in a dedicated room and will utilise current achievements of NCBJ and WCO (Greater Poland Cancer Centre), attained during the implementation of AiD and INTRADOSE projects. The creators of this device take into account both the technological advancement related to accelerator-based solutions and current worldwide experience in intraoperative irradiation. ----

Two „Miniatures” in Life Sciences

logo NCN
For the first time, scientists from NCBJ were awarded with a grant from NCN Miniatura competition in the field of Life Sciences. The receivers of these grants, Dr Kamila Maliszewska-Olejniczak and Dr Karolina Wójciuk, are working in Nuclear Facilities Operations Department and their projects are related to the research for boron-neutron therapy (BNCT). ----

In memory of Professor Eryk Infeld

Professor Eryk Infeld passed away
He combined talent with great diligence and enthusiasm. He had a particular ability to create and perform detailed analyses of complex mathematical models for practical physical problems. He was also a humanist, he was familiar with literature and art. He was a man of thought, inspiring for his surroundings. Always smiling, with great sense of humour. He was kind and patient towards everyone. He passed away on 14th March 2019. We will truly miss Him. ----

FASER – new LHC experiment with strong Polish accent

    Another experiment by the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) will be built in CERN. One of its originators is Polish, Dr Sebastian Trojanowski from NCBJ Theoretical Physics Division. FASER – as the new installation is to be called – will be a multidetector designed to search for long-lived particles that are produced during collisions in LHC and which can be a signal of existence of the hypothetical dark matter. ----

Hoża is just history now

Hoża Street and Pasteura Street (foto: Marek Pawłowski /NCBJ)
The last professors have carried out last desks from the previous NCBJ pavilion at Hoża 69. Now our Warsaw divisions will be placed Pasteur Street 7 on the Ochota Campus. Specifically, on the second, fourth and fifth floor of a building shared with Faculty of Physics and other units of University of Warsaw. ----